Overview | History | Current Students | Student Awards | Curriculum | Admission Requirements

Current Students

Kareem AbdelsaidKareem Abdelsaid
PhD Candidate
kabdelsaid@augusta.edu

Mentor: Masuko Ushio-Fukai, PhD and Tohru Fukai, MD, PhD 

 

Research Project:  Exercise impreoves Angiogenic Function of Circulating Exosomes in Type 2 Diabetes: Role of Extracellular SOD

WonMo AhnWonMo Ahn
PhD Student
wahn@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Gabor Csanyi, PhD

 

Research Project:  ACE2-independent internalization of SARS-CoV-2 protein in COPD

Alhusban

Suhib Alhusban
PhD Student
salhusban@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Brian Annex, MD

 

Research Project: Unraveling an Enigmatic Angiogenesis Pathway and Its Relationship to Potential PAD Therapeutics

 

Candee Barris

Candee Barris
PhD Student
cbarris@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Eric Belin de Chantemele, PhD

Zsuzsanna Bordan

Zsuzsanna Bordan
PhD Candidate
zbordan@augusta.edu

Mentor:  David Fulton, PhD

 

Research Project:  PBK, a Novel Regulator of Vascular Remodeling in   Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension

Jaser Doja

Jaser Doja
PhD Student
jdoja@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Joe Miano, PhD

 

 

Brandee GooBrandee Goo
MD/PhD Student
bgoo@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Neal Weintraub, MD 

 

 

Research focus: Aging increases inflammation and impairs the function of fat tissue. I'm interested in the processes that cause aging of our fat tissues and how they may be targeted to promote healthy aging.

Steve HaighSteve Haigh
PhD Candidate
shaigh@augusta.edu

Mentor:  David Fulton, PhD

 

Research Project:  Pulmonary Arterial hypertension, Cell Death, and Galectin 3

David KimDavid Kim
MD/PhD Student
skim1@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Neal Weintraub, MD 

 

Research focus:  Heart surgeries often fail in the long term due to the proliferation of muscle cells in the vessels. I’m interested in identifying how a novel type of RNA called long non-coding RNA impacts this proliferative process.

Taylor KressTaylor Kress
PhD Student
tkress@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Eric Belin de Chantemele, PhD

 

Research focus:  My research is focused on HIV associated cardiovascular disease and determining how repressed viral protein expression contributes to diseases such as hypertension and atherosclerosis.

Caleb PadgettCaleb Padgett
PhD Candidate
cpadgett@augusta.edu

Mentor:  David Stepp, PhD 

 

Research focus:  Our research is looking for ways to break the link between obesity and the cardiovascular diseases that accompany it. I’m specifically interested in the mechanisms by which hyperglycemia causes oxidative stress and microvascular endothelial dysfunction.

Hanna Reinhart
PhD Student
hreinhart@augusta.edu

Mentor:  Brian Stansfield, MD

Research focus:  My project is about determining how the immune system contributes to blood vessel growth using the model of oxygen induced retinopathy. With this information, my lab hopes to develop better treatments for those affected.

Hunter SellersHunter Sellers
PhD Student
hsellers@augusta.edu

Mentor:  David Fulton, PhD

Research Project:  Generation of an AAV Model of Murine Obesity

Andrew SpeeseAndrew Speese
PhD Student
aspeese@augusta.edu

Mentor:  David Stepp, PhD