Overview | History | Current Students | Student Awards | Curriculum | Admission Requirements

Current Students

WonMo Ahn

Mentor: Gabor Csanyi, PhD

Research Project: ACE2-independent internalization of SARS-CoV-2 protein in COPD

wahn@augusta.edu

Suhib Alhusban

Mentor: Brian Annex, MD

Research Project: Hexosamine Biosynthesis Pathway as a Potential Therapeutic Target in Patients with Peripheral Arterial Disease

salhusban@augusta.edu

Candee Barris

Mentor: Eric Belin de Chantemele, PhD

Research Project: Origins of sex difference in the mechanisms of obesity-associate hypertension

cbarris@augusta.edu

Maria Blahove

Mentor: Gabor Csanyi, PhD

Research Project: The link between exosomes & cardiovascular diseases. By targeting exosomes in diseased states to better understand the cross-talk between cells during cardiovascular diseases & furthers progression of the disease.

mablahove@augusta.edu

Zsuzsanna Bordan

Mentor: David Fulton, PhD

Research Project: PDZ-Binding Kinase Drives Pulmonary Artery Smooth Muscel Proliferation & Vascular Remodeling in Pulmonary Arterial Hypertension

zbordan@augusta.edu

Zach Brown

Mentor: David Fulton, PhD

zabrown@augusta.edu 

Karl Diaz-Sanders

Mentor: Jennifer Sullivan, PhD

Research focus: Sex differences in hypertension to understand the molecular mechanisms within the immune system that regulate blood pressure in males & females under physiological & pathophysiological conditions.

kdiazsanders@augusta.edu

Jaser Doja

Mentor: Joe Miano, PhD

Research Project: Orbiting Myocardin: Finding a Viable Landing Site

jdoja@augusta.edu

Brandee Goo

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, MD

Research focus: Aging increases inflammation & impairs the function of fat tissue. I'm interested in the processes that cause aging of our fat tissues & how they may be targeted to promote healthy aging.

bgoo@augusta.edu

Steve Haigh

Mentor: David Fulton, PhD

Research Project: Pulmonary Arterial hypertension, Cell Death, & Galectin 3

shaigh@augusta.edu

David Kim

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, MD

Research Project: Role of Novel Long Non-coding RNA BAZ1A-AS1 in Neointima Formation in Human Saphenous Vein Graft Disease

skim1@augusta.edu

Taylor Kress

Mentor: Eric Belin de Chantemele, PhD

Research focus: My research is focused on HIV associated cardiovascular disease & determining how repressed viral protein expression contributes to diseases such as hypertension & atherosclerosis.

tkress@augusta.edu

Cody Rosewater

Mentor: David Stepp, PhD

Research Project: Investigating the impact of obesity on blood brain barrier integrity & the role of obesity in aromatase expression & its associated pathways.

 cbridgewater@augusta.edu 

Hunter Sellers

Mentor: David Fulton, PhD

Research Project: A Model of Sustained Hyperphagia & Obesity in Mice using a Brain Targeting Adneo Associated Virus

hsellers@augusta.edu

Mitchell Shivers

Mentor: David Fulton, PhD

 mishivers@augusta.edu 

Andrew Speese

Mentor: David Stepp, PhD

Research Project; Reversing Myosteatosis, a Novel Treatment of Cardiovascular Disease in Obesity

aspeese@augusta.edu

Josue Zambrano-Carrasco

Mentor: Huabo Su, PhD

Research Project: Role of RBX1 in cardiac development & maturation

 jzambranocarras@augusta.edu