Instructional Continuity


 Augusta University strives to maintain academic continuity when normal academic activities are disrupted. While natural disruptions may encroach on a faculty’s ability to teach face-to-face classes, the Center for Instructional Innovation (CII) has provided digital solutions to assist with class restructuring and make-up activities. This guide will provide you with resources for building out your Instructional Continuity Plan.

it’s our hope that you are aware that the Center for Instructional Innovation (CII) and instructional technology support staff embedded in your college or school are ready to offer their knowledge and skills to help you develop the resources you need. 

AU Course Shell

AU Course ShellCreated by the Center for Instructional Innovation at Augusta University, the AU Course Shell is a 16-week online course structure with pre-built pages that you can modify according to your needs. It is ADA-compliant and addresses many of the Quality Matters Rubric standards.

The shell is organized into a "Start Here" module and 16 instructional modules. 

  • The "Start Here" module contains 10 pre-built pages that follow the best practices you will read about in the next few lectures of this module.
  • Each instructional module has five customizable pages with prompts and tips to guide you through the development process.

More information on the AU Course Shell can be found here.

In addition to the above your IT Instructional Systems Analyst (ISA) can help you put our instructional systems to work for you and your students.  Please see the below table to find your ISA.  During this time of increased need, we hope you will message your ISA with questions or inquiries via Microsoft Teams whether from the web app or via the Teams desktop and mobile app.  You may also call or email us.

College or School

ISA Name

Microsoft Teams handle

Phone Number

Email address

College of Allied Health Sciences

Crystal Davis

CRYDAVIS

706.721.9994

crydavis@augusta.edu

College of Education 

Susan Floyd

SFLOYD

706.446.1442

sfloyd@augusta.edu 

College of Nursing

Amy Hemmerle

AHEMMERLE

706.721.2952

ahemmerle@augusta.edu

College of Nursing

Matthew Fortson

MAFORTSON

706.389.6813

mafortson@augusta.edu

College of Science and Mathematics

Artemas Jones

AJONES12

706.721.9102

ajones@augusta.edu

Dental College of Georgia

Shanté Perrin

SPERRIN1

706.721.4705

sperrin1@augusta.edu

Hull College of Business

Susan Floyd

SFLOYD

706.446.1442

sfloyd@augusta.edu

Medical College of Georgia

Davina Smalley

DAJONES1

706.446.1415

dajones1@augusta.edu

Medical College of Georgia

Trent Anthony

TANTHONY

706.721.9681

tanthony@augusta.edu

Medical College of Georgia

Jo Edmond

JEDMOND

706.721.5621

jedmond@augusta.edu

Medical College of Georgia

Cameron Logan

CLOGAN1

706.667.4941

clogan1@augusta.edu

Pamplin College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences

Rechodd Carter

RCARTER

706.721.9912

rcarter@augusta.edu

School of Computer and Cyber Sciences

Sienna Sewell

SSEWELL

706.721.4382

ssewell@augusta.edu

Please note that we expect call volumes to be elevated in the coming weeks.  If you have trouble reaching your ISA, we hope you will place a ticket with our 24-hour Help Desk (706.721.4000)

Other resources are located on the AU Continuity page as well as ITs page for Instructional Technology