Department of Dental Hygiene Scholarships/Awards





This scholarship was created in honor of Associate Professor Emerita, and MCG alumni, Jessie O. Brown, who retired after 30 years of service. This award recognizes a senior student who demonstrates outstanding potential as a dental hygiene care provider with emphasis placed on quality of care and ethical responsibilities.




CRITERIA: The scholarship applicant must:

1) be a senior year student

2) accept patients without judging or discriminating

3) establish patient rapport through appropriate body language and interpersonal communication

4) build trust through professional credibility

5) deliver exemplary clinical dental hygiene service only after data collection through assessing and developing a
     comprehensive treatment plan

6) provide dental hygiene care with full knowledge of and adherence to ethical and legal responsibilities

7) motivate patients to strive for and maintain good oral health

8) function as a team player in a dental provider environment

Students who meet these criteria are nominated by the Department of Dental Hygiene faculty. The final recipient will be selected by the members of the Sigma Phi Alpha Scholarship Committee.


2010 - Sarah Jo Labrador
2009 - Lisa Stapleton

(Return to Scholarships/Awards)