The Hinman Dental Society is a non-profit organization comprised of more than 750 member dentists primarily located in metropolitan Atlanta, Georgia. Proceeds from their annual meeting make it possible to support student education throughout the Southeast. Students selected for scholarships are named “Hinman Scholars” and recognized during a luncheon at the Hinman Dental Meeting in March.

CRITERIA: (Due December 1st) Hinman scholars are selected by the Department of Dental Hygiene faculty at the end of the fall semester based on the following criteria:
1) enrolled as a first year student
2) achieve a GPA of 3.0 or higher
3) accept peers without judging or discriminating
4) establish peer and faculty rapport through appropriate body language and interpersonal communication
5) build trust through professional credibility
6) exhibit excellent preclinical skills

Information found in the departmental student scholarship essays may also be considered in the selection process.

AMOUNT: $750


2014 - Jacqueline Bascino, LaShaunda Garrett, and Kamrin Moon
2011 - Krystal Herring, Amy Padgett, and Jessica Shackelford
2010 - Jennifer Enlow, Adrienne Jones, and Sarah Ho Labrador

(Return to Scholarships/Awards)