The Russell A. Blanchard Distinguished Lecture Series in Ethics presents an annual lecture on business ethics to inspire students, faculty, and community leaders in their ethical decision making.

Distinguished lecturers articulate lessons learned and provide insight into our often complex business world. Students and the community benefit from discussions on the practical application of business ethics theory.

The lecturers are professionals who have achieved distinction in their lives and espouse the highest ideals of ethical decision making or have ethical life lessons to be shared.

The Russell A. Blanchard Distinguished Lecture Series in Ethics is made possible through the Georgia Bank and Trust Endowment established within the Augusta University Foundation honoring the legacy of Russell A. Blanchard.

Russell A. Blanchard


Russell BlanchardRussell A. Blanchard was an alumnus and longtime friend of the University. A 1928 alumnus of the Junior College of Augusta (now Augusta University), he was the first recipient of the Alumni Association’s Distinguished Alumnus Award. He was a two-time recipient of the University’s highest honor, the President’s Award, as well as one of only two individuals ever to receive an Honorary Doctor of Letters from the University. He also was a member of the Augusta University Foundation, which he helped establish in 1963.

Blanchard was a past president of the Rotary Club of Augusta, a three-time past president of the United Fund of Augusta, and a past director of the Finance Committee of the Augusta Metro Chamber of Commerce. He also helped organize the North Augusta Chamber of Commerce. After serving as president and vice chair of the board of directors of the Georgia Railroad Bank and Trust Company, he retired from a distinguished career in banking.

Blanchard also served as president of the Georgia Bankers Association and the State Bank Division of the American Bankers Association.

Past Presenters

Previous lecturers:

2022: Retired Lt. Gen. Leslie C. Smith, prior Inspector General for the Secretary of the U.S Army

2021: Denise Weiss, UX Strategy and Digital Operations Leader, Deloitte Insights

2020: Lee Ellis, President and Founder, Leading With Honor LLC

2018: Anthony Randall, Founder of Vanguard XXI LLC (spring)
           Erwin Reid, Senior Vice President of Restaurant Development, Chick-fil-A (fall)