Section of Operative Dentistry

Operative Dentistry is the art and science of the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of diseases or trauma to teeth. Treatment should restore proper tooth morphology, function, esthetics and harmonious relationship with surrounding tissues. The Section of Operative Dentistry is in the Department of Restorative Sciences. Our mission is to support the academic goals of the Department and Augusta University through teaching, research, service, continuing education programs and patient care. Our primary mission is to provide high quality didactic, pre-clinical and clinical instructions to undergraduate students in contemporary and evidence-based operative dentistry. The concepts of modern day dental practice management and auxiliary utilization are also emphasized.

Faculty

photo of William Bachand, DDS


Associate Professor
(706) 723-4321
wbachand@augusta.edu
photo of Martha G. Brackett, DDS, MSD


Section Director
Professor
(706) 721-8308
mbrackett@augusta.edu
photo of William W. Brackett, DDS, MSD


Professor-Rehired Retiree 
photo of Frank W. Caughman, DMD, MEd 


Professor-Rehired Retiree
(706) 721-7019 
fcaughma@augusta.edu
photo of Alan Furness, DMD


Associate Professor 
(706) 721-8321 
afurness@augusta.edu
photo of Ray Jeter, DDS


Assistant Professor 
photo of Andrew R. Kious, DDS


Associate Professor- Rehired Retiree
(706) 721-8298
akious@augusta.edu
photo of  J. Rodway Mackert, DMD, PhD


Professor-Rehired Retiree
(706) 721-8326
rmackert@augusta.edu
photo of Abu Nazmul-Hossain, DDS, PhD


Assistant Professor 
photo of Fairchild Payne


Instructor-Part Time
(706) 721-8814
FAPAYNE@augusta.edu
photo of Mario Romero, DDS


Associate Professor
 
(706) 721-2881 
maromero@augusta.edu 
photo of Rhoda Sword, DMD 


Associate Professor
 
 
(706) 721-8297 
rsword@augusta.edu