The AAUP is a nonprofit membership association of faculty and other academic professionals. Headquartered in Washington, DC, the association has members and chapters based at colleges and universities across the country.

Established on September 8, 2005, the chapter membership is open to all current and retired Augusta University faculty members as well to currently enrolled Augusta University graduate students. Chapter membership requires membership in the national association. Join now - or contact our recruitment chair, Andrew Balas. Our chapter generally meets on the third Friday of every month during the Spring and Fall semester.


Academic Freedom for a Free Society

AUP's purpose is to advance academic freedom and shared governance, to define fundamental professional values and standards for higher education, and to ensure higher education's contribution to the common good.

In Loving Memory of Dr. William A. "Bill" Reese II (1947-2020), a chapter founder

Bill Reese Profile Photo

Officers and Bylaws

The Augusta State University chapter of the American Association of University Professors was established on 8 September 2005. The charter members are: Dr. Mary Jane Anderson, Dr. James Benedict, Dr. Michael Bishku, Dr. Jurgen Brauer, Dr. Mark Fissel, Dr. Ruth McClelland-Nugent, Dr. Bill Reese, Dr. Allen Scarboro, Professor Michael Searles, and Dr. Raymond Whiting.

Chapter By-Laws


Dr. Andrew Balas

  • President

Dr. Michael Murray

  • Vice President

Dr. Darla Linville

  • Treasurer

Dr. Angela Bratton

  • Secretary