Each year, the University System of Georgia MD/PhD Program welcomes up to six students into the program. These diverse students are a collection of talented individuals from many different universities. Current students are listed below according to matriculation year.

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about the MD/PhD Program. Please do not hesitate to contact anyone in the Program for more information.

STUDENT PROGRAM UNDERGRADUATE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY
2019      
Nicholas Moore

Nicholas Moore

nmoore3@augusta.edu 

 1st Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: Krishnan Dhandapani, PhD

Georgia Southern University - Statesboro, GA

 

Sophia sakers

Sophia Sakers

ssakers@augusta.edu 

1st Year PhD Student

Georgia Institute of Technology - Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Mark R. Prausnitz, PhD

University of Oklahoma - Norman, OK

 

2018      
Photo Unavailable

Dakota Booth

dbooth@augusta.edu 

2nd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Kebin Liu, PhD

 

 Mercer University - Macon, GA
Dr. David Kim

David Kim

skim1@augusta.edu 

2nd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University-Vascular Biology

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, PhD

Augusta University, Augusta Georgia
Photo Unavailable

Oluwamayokun Oshinowo

ooshinowo@augusta.edu 

2nd Year PhD Student

Georgia Institute of Technology- Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Wilbur A. Lam, MD-PhD

 

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
2017      
Brandee Goo

Brandee Goo

bgoo@augusta.edu 

3rd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Vascular Biology

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, PhD

University of Evansville - Evansville, IN
2016      
No photo

Elinor Mannon

emannon@augusta.edu 

3rd Year MD Student

Defended 2021:
Medical College of Georgia,

Augusta University –
Physiology

Mentor: Paul O’Connor, PhD

Wellesley College -  Wellesley, MA
no photo

Rebekah Robinson

rebrobinson@augusta.edu 

3rd Year MD Student

Defended 2021:
Medical College of Georgia,

Augusta University –
Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Shruti Sharma, PhD

Armstrong State University - Savannah, GA
2015
 Clare Edwards

Clare Edwards

cledwards@augusta.edu 

3rd year MD student

Defended 2021:
University of Georgia - Integrated Life Science Program

Mentor: Michael Terns, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
unavail

Saadia Hasan

shasan@augusta.edu 

 

3rd Year PhD Student

NIH - Neuroscience

Mentor: Michael Ward, MD, PhD

 

University of California - Los Angeles, CA
Jacob Kumro

Jacob Kumro

jkumro@augusta.edu 

 

3rd Year MD Student

Defended 2021:
Medical College of Georgia,
Augusta University –
Neuroscience

Mentor: David Blake, PhD

 

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
2014
Wonjo Jang

Wonjo Jang

wojang@augusta.edu 

5th Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: Nevin Lambert, PhD

 

Duke University - Durham, NC