Each year, the University System of Georgia MD/PhD Program welcomes up to six students into the program. These diverse students are a collection of talented individuals from many different universities. Current students are listed below according to matriculation year.

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about the MD/PhD Program. Please do not hesitate to contact anyone in the Program for more information.

STUDENT PROGRAM UNDERGRADUATE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY
2019      
 

 Nicholas Moore

nmoore3@augusta.edu 

 2nd Year Medical Student Augusta University, Augusta, GA
 Sophia sakers

 Sophia Sakers

ssakers@augusta.edu 

 2nd Year Medical Student University of Georgia, Athens, GA
2018      
Photo Unavailable

Dakota Booth

dbooth@augusta.edu 

1st Year PhD Student 

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Kebin Liu, PhD

 Mercer University - Macon, GA
 

David Kim

skim1@augusta.edu

1st Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University-Vascular Biology

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, PhD

 
Photo Unavailable

Oluwamayokun Oshinowo

ooshinowo@augusta.edu 

1st Year PhD Student

 

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
2017      
Brandee Goo

Brandee Goo

bgoo@augusta.edu 

2nd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Vascular Biology

Mentor: Neal Weintraub, PhD

University of Evansville - Evansville, IN
unavail

 Saadia Hasan

shasan@augusta.edu 

 2nd Year PhD Student 

 NIH - Neuroscience

Mentor: Michael Ward, MD, PhD

University of California - Los Angeles, CA
2016      
No photo

Elinor Mannon

emannon@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Physiology

Mentor: Paul O'Connor, PhD

Wellesley College -  Wellesley, MA
no photo

Rebekah Robinson

rebrobinson@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Shruti Sharma, PhD

Armstrong State University - Savannah, GA
2015
Jacob Kumro

Jacob Kumro

jkumro@augusta.edu

4th year PhD student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: David Blake, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 Clare Edwards

Clare Edwards

cledwards@augusta.edu

4th year PhD student

University of Georgia - Integrated Life Science Program

Mentor: Michael Terns, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
Wonjo Jang

Wonjo Jang

 wojang@augusta.edu

4th Year PhD Student

Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: Nevin Lambert, PhD

 Duke University - Durham, NC
2014
Martin Halicek

Martin Halicek 

martin.halicek@gatech.edu

 

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Georgia Institute of Technology - Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Baowei Fei, PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
John Klement

John Klement

jklement@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Kebin Liu, PhD

Yale University - New Haven, CT
Rodney Littlejohn

Rodney Littlejohn

rlittlejohn@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Huabo Su, PhD

University of Alabama - Tuscaloosa, AL
Najeah Okashah

Najeah Okashah

nokashah@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Nevin Lambert, PhD

Florida State University - Tallahassee, FL
Samantha Spellicy

Samantha Spellicy

samantha.spellicy25@uga.edu 

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: University of Georgia - Neuroscience

Mentor: Steven Stice, PhD

University of Maryland - College Park, MD
Lynn Tran

Lynn Tran

lytran@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Jin Xiong She, PhD

University of North Georgia - Dahlonega, GA
Paul Tran

Paul Tran

ptran@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2020: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Jin Xiong She, PhD

University of North Georgia - Dahlonega, GA
2013
Kristin Ates

Kristin Ates

kates@augusta.edu

4th Year Medical Student

Defended 2019: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine

Mentor: Albert Pan, PhD

Tulane University - New Orleans, LA
Alec Davila

Alec Davila

adavila@augusta.edu

4th Year Medical Student

Defended 2019: Medical College of Georgia, Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Zsolt Bagi, MD, PhD

Barry University - Miami Shores, FL