Trainees choose an area of Neuroscience research from a broad range of interdisciplinary neuroscience topics. Current research strengths and targeted faculty recruiting at Augusta University include neurodegeneration and Alzheimer’s research, stroke, neural regeneration, stem cells, learning and memory processes, and sensory systems. Research in these areas is carried out at one of Augusta University's many outstanding basic and clinical science departments, including the program’s home Department of Neuroscience & Regenerative Medicine, Cellular Biology and Anatomy, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Neurology, Neuropathology, Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology, Psychiatry, Radiology and research centers such as the Vision Discovery Institute.  See below for contact information and research areas of Graduate Program in Neuroscience faculty.

Research as a Component of Curriculum

Students will undertake three rotations in research labs during the first semester of the first year, where they will be involved in research projects. These are designed to teach techniques and serve to help students choose a research lab. During the second semester of their first year students will do two research rotations which will serve to help them select a mentor for their dissertation research, chosen after their second semester. Students are expected to receive research training during the rotations and in the lab of their mentor. Students will prepare a written research proposal for their dissertation in consultation with their mentor and a thesis advisory committee that will approve the research proposal. The student is expected to do original research for their dissertation and publish their work in a peer-reviewed scientific journal.

 

Research Faculty Listing
Faculty/Research
E-mail
Clinical Faculty
Krishnan Dhandapani
David Hess
Lawrence Layman
Sergei Kirov
Nathan Yanasak
kdhandapani@augusta.edu
dhess@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
skirov@augusta.edu
nyanasak@augusta.edu

Cognitive, Integrative and Behavioral

David Blake
Ferenc Deak
Jay Hegde
Chung Sub Kim
Xin Yun Lu
Anil Pillai
Alan Saul
Alvin Terry
Almira Vazdarjanova


dblake@augusta.edu
fdeak@augusta.edu
jhegde@augusta.edu
ckim5@augusta.edu
xylu@augusta.edu
apillai@augusta.edu
asaul@augusta.edu
aterry@augusta.edu
avazdarjanova@augusta.edu

 


Developmental and Regenerative

Darrell Brann
Lin Gan
Lawrence Layman
Lynnette McCluskey
Sangeetha Sukamari-Ramesh
Robert Yu
Quanguang Zhang
Mohan Wakade

dbrann@augusta.edu
lgan@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
lmccluskey@augusta.edu
sramesh@augusta.edu

ryu@augusta.edu
qzhang@augusta.edu
mwakade@augusta.edu


Cellular and Molecular

Clare Bergson
Darrell Brann
Ferenc Deak
Krishnan Dhandpani
Ali Eroglu
Chung Sub Kim
Sergei Kirov
Nevin Lambert
Lawrence Layman
Xin Yun Lu
Robert Yu


cbergson@augusta.edu
dbrann@augusta.edu
fdeak@augusta.edu
kdhandapani@augusta.edu
aeroglu@augusta.edu
ckim5@augusta.edu
skirov@augusta.edu
nlambert@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
xylu@augusta.edu
ryu@augusta.edu