The Athletics Committee is responsible for oversight of and development of policy recommendations on academic matters involving intercollegiate athletics. In fulfilling its duties, the committee has the right to request documents of the institution and of individuals, to interview faculty, administrators, staff, and students, and to seek the advice of AU legal counsel (AUFS Bylaws III,


Two representatives from each college serve a two-year term and are appointed by the Committee on Committees. Ex-officio (non-voting members) of the committee include: the Director of Athletics, the senior woman administrator in Athletics, the Faculty Athletics Representative appointed by the university President, and the president and vice president of the student-athlete advisory committee (SAAC) (AUFS Bylaws III,


Hannah Bennett

Meeting Schedule

The Athletics Committee typically meets monthly. The Chair with the representatives will set the meeting dates & times. The Chair or Senate Liaison will call the first meeting of each academic year.

Agendas & Minutes

Membership Roster

Member College Term
Vanessa Everett College of Allied Health Sciences 2021-2022
Valerie Hogan College of Allied Health Sciences 2021-2022
Penny Alderman College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences 2020-2022
Wesley Meares College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences 2021-2022
Hannah Bennett (Chair) College of Education 2020-2023
Nicole Peritore College of Education 2021-2022
Bill Hamilton College of Nursing 2021-2022
Rebecca Rule College of Nursing 2021-2022
Stacy Bennetts College of Science and Mathematics 2021-2022
William Bachand Dental College of Georgia 2021-2022
Mario Romero Dental College of Georgia 2020-2022
Robyn Verdery Hull College of Business 2021-2022
Rod Bustos Libraries 2021-2022
Jack Ellis Medical College of Georgia 2021-2022
John Heslen School of Computer and Cyber Sciences 2021-2022