Leaders in immunology research from around the U.S. comprise our Scientific Advisory Board, which provides expert counsel to IMMCG’s leadership to guide the growth and evolution of the center.

The 2023-24 board is comprised of:

Jane Buckner, MD
President, BRI
Director, Translational Sample Core
Benaroya Institute, Seattle, WA

Mark Davis, PhD
Professor, Microbiology & Immunology,
Director, Stanford Institute for Immunity, Transplantation & Infection, Stanford University

Marc Jenkins, PhD
Regents & Distinguished McKnight University
Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, University of Minnesota

Mariana J. Kaplan, MD
Deputy Scientific Director, Systemic Autoimmunity Branch, NIAMS, NIH

Mitch Kronenberg, PhD
Chief Scientific Officer,
Center, Autoimmunity & Inflammation,
Center, Infectious Disease & Vaccine Research
La Jolla Institute for Immunology

The counsel and guidance provided by the Scientific Advisory Board members takes several forms:

  • Collaborative grant opportunities such as PPGs, NIH contracts and proposal calls
  • Recruitment of immunology research faculty
  • Evaluation of tenured faculty every five years
  • Evaluation / advisement of junior IMMCG scientists every three years
  • Immunology-related training programs for undergraduates, graduate students and postdocs
  • Speaking at the IMMCG Seminar Series
  • Evaluation of research core facilities and recommendations on equipment updates, new cores