Skip to main contentBack to Top

This Department's focus is the framework of the body's cells, organs and systems, how they work and how abnormal function leads to disease.

The department is dedicated to outstanding research and excellence in education.

Our federally-funded scientists study some of the nation's top killers like cardiovascular disease and hypertension, and train independent, creative, productive scholars and PhD graduates, who publish in top tier journals and who are competitive for positions wherever they choose to go.

The department offers programs leading to the PhD degree. A combined MD/PhD or DMD/PhD degree program is available for students who obtain prior or concurrent admission to the Medical College of Georgia (MCG) or the Dental College of Georgia.

In all programs, extensive experience in the philosophy and performance of basic and biomedical research is stressed. By virtue of their interdisciplinary training, the department's graduates compete successfully for positions in medical schools, universities, government and industry.


Physiology News

Doctor in lab

Cells that make our insides slick also calm our spleens

It’s called icing sugar spleen, when the usually purplish organ looks like it has been dipped in unhealthy white icing, and the surface is bumpy and thick.

Man in lab

Watsky to step down as dean of The Graduate School; Sullivan named interim

After serving seven years as dean of The Graduate School, Dr. Mitchell Watsky plans to return to the faculty effective July 1.

people looking at lab equipment

Lipid helps heal the eye’s frontline protection

A species of a lipid that naturally helps skin injuries heal appears to also aid repair of common corneal injuries, even when other conditions, like diabetes, make healing difficult, scientists report.

two doctors looking at lab equipment

Free radicals from immune cells are direct cause of salt-sensitive hypertension

In salt-sensitive hypertension, immune cells gather in the kidneys and shoot out free radicals, heightening blood pressure and damaging this pair of vital organs, scientists report.



Apr 02

CANCELLED - Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Richard Roman
Department of Physiology Seminar Series presents guest speaker Dr. Richard Roman from University of Mississippi Medical Center. To be rescheduled at later date.

Apr 16

Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Tseng Yu-Hua - Harvard Medical School
Department of Physiology Seminar Series guest speaker Dr. Tseng Yu-Hua from Harvard Medical School presents "Thermogenic fat: physiological role and therapeutic potential."

Apr 23

Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Lin Gan
Department of Physiology Seminar Series presents Dr. Lin Gan.

Additional Seminars

Contact Us

Department of Physiology

Health Sciences Campus

Interdisciplinary Research Center


1120 15th Street, CA 3126, Augusta, GA 30912