Established in 2006, the Practice Plan, also known as Augusta University Health Professions Associates (AUHPA) Inc., was created by faculty within the College of Allied Health Sciences (CAHS) primarily to provide a mechanism for faculty to engage in practice in clinical, consulting, and continuing education roles.

AUHPA is a not-for-profit 501(c)3 corporation that manages the contracting, financial, and logistical tasks that make it possible for CAHS faculty to maintain their clinical skills, involve students in clinical activities, and fulfill our mission to engage with our community.

Our community partners have access to a wide range of experienced clinical professionals: 

  • Physical Therapists
  • Occupational Therapists
  • Nutrition and Dietetics Specialists
  • Physician Assistants
  • Radiation Therapists
  • Medical Illustrators
  • Dental Hygienists
  • Clinical/Medical Laboratory Scientists
  • Speech and Language Pathologists

Who is the AUHPA for?

All full‐time faculty members of the College of Allied Health Sciences (CAHS) are members of the Practice Plan. Part‐time faculty and credentialed staff have the option to participate. Membership does not mandate that the faculty member engages in professional practice.

What are benefits of AUHPA?

Benefits to the faculty member include the opportunity for current faculty to supplement their income while also maintaining their practice skills and creating additional learning opportunities for students. Additional benefits of faculty practice include revenues for the department and college.

More FAQs

Contact Us


Kathy Dexter, MLS, MHA, MPA, PA-C, CAQ-Psych
Assistant Dean of Clinical Practice

AUHPA Practice Sites

Request to Practice

Abbreviated Procedure to Begin Faculty Practice

The faculty member identifies a practice opportunity, has a discussion with the department chair, and contacts the site.

The faculty member completes and submits the Request to Practice Form to the Practice Plan Chief Administrator (Assistant Dean of Clinical Practice).

The administrator prepares the contract and coordinates with the practice site.

The contract undergoes legal review, if necessary.

The contract is signed first by a representative of the contracting entity and then by the Dean, College of Allied Health Sciences, AUHPA Board Chair.

Once the contract is signed by the Dean, the faculty member may begin practicing.

The faculty member tracks their activity (hours or units) and submits a time sheet to the Practice Plan administrative assistant by the end of each quarter (March 31, June  30, September 30 and December 31). Faculty compensation is added to the AU paycheck as supplemental income in January, April, July, and October. This income is taxable.

Reference Practice Plan Operating Policies for additional details on the process.

Board of Directors

AUHPA, Inc. is a 501(c)3 not-for‐profit corporation governed by a Board of Directors which includes elected and appointed faculty members of the practice plan.

The Dean of the College of Allied Health Sciences serves as the Chair of the Board of Directors.

Bylaws of Practice Plan


Term Expiration: September 2024

Brett Rice

  • President

Vanessa Everett

  • President - Past


  • President - Elect

Stephanie Johnson

  • Treasurer/Secretary

Ex-officio Members

3 voting members; *1 non-voting member

Dr. Lester Pretlow

  • Board Chair

Kathy Dexter

  • Chief Administrator


  • Wellstar MCG Health Representative

Dr. Neil MacKinnon*

  • AU Provost

Elected and Appointed Members

8 voting members

Kelly Reed (PA)

  • Elected Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2024

Vanessa Everett (PT)

  • Elected Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2024

Kandyce A'see (DH)

  • Elected Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2025

Ashley Fox (PT)

  • Elected Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2025

Tyger Meade Clayton (PA)

  • Appointed Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2024

Brett Rice (UHP)

  • Appointed Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2024

Nicole Moore (IHS)

  • Appointed Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2025

Stephanie Johnson (OT)

  • Appointed Member
  • Term Expiration: September 2025

Finance Committee

Vanessa Everett

  • Chair


  • Member


  • Member

Aubre Keenan

  • Consultant