May 2020 

Casey Derella, a graduate student menthoed by Dr. Ryan Harris, won first place and People’s Choice in the 2020 Augusta University Three Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition.

Elinor Mannon, a graduate student in Dr. O'Connor's lab, was selected as a co-editor for the Renal Fellows Network.

April 2020

Lindsey Ramirez, a graduate student in Dr. Sullivan’s lab, received a Porter Physiology Fellowship.

March 2020

Thank you, Dr. David Hoadley Ellison, for serving as our Mahesh Lectureship speaker and presenting “Potassium Signals Kidney Cells via Voltage, Chloride, and WNK Kinases.”  Thank you to graduate students Casey Derella (Dr. Ryan Harris's lab) and Kasey Belanger (Dr. Sullivan's lab) for organizing the seventeenth lectureship to honor Dr. Virendra Mahesh.

Dr. Ellen Gillis, a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Sullivan's lab, was awarded a National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute K99 entitled "Role of regulatory T cells in adverse pregnancy outcomes after ischemia reperfusion injury."

February 2020

Dr. O'Connor was awarded a National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases R21 entitled Novel anti-inflammatory mesothelial signaling to the spleen.

January 2020

Dr. Yoon was awarded with a NIH/NHLBI multi-PI R01 entitled Ca2+ and ROS Crosstalk Signaling in Cardiac Mitochondria.

December 2019

Graduate students Mahmoud Abdelbary from Dr. Sullivan's lab and Yanna Tian from Dr. Bagi's lab were awarded American Heart Association pre-doctoral fellowships.

November 2019

Congratulations to the recipients of the Chair’s Predoctoral and Postdoctoral Fellowships to attend the American Physiological Society  (APS) Professional Skills course – Sarah Ray from Dr. O'Connor's lab and Dr. Riyaz Mohamed from Dr. Sullivan's lab!

Read our 2019 Physiology Insider.

Dr. Wendy Bollag received a Distinguished Researcher award from Augusta University Research Institute.

October 2019

The Department of Physiology won the competition between departments for The Graduate School BioMedical Student Association Blood Drive!

Dr. Wendy Bollag was invited to be the 2020 Raniyah Ramadan Distinguished Lecturer for the Dean McGee Eye Institute at the University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center.

Dr. Yisang Yoon received an Intramural Grants Program Award for his project titled "A Novel Regulatory Mechanism of Mitochondrial Permeability Transition."

Congratulations to Dr. Yue (Penny) Pan, a graduate student in Dr. Xiaoling Wang's lab, on her successful defense!

Dr. Ellen Gillis, a postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Jennifer Sullivan's lab, received the first R. Clinton Webb Postdoctoral Fellow Travel Award.

September 2019

Dr. Wendy Bollag was awarded a National Institutes of Health R01 as a Co-Principal Investigator with Dr. Mitchell Watsky for their research project "Phosphatidylglycerol as a Therapy for Corneal Injury."

Dr. David Stepp received a grant from the National Institutes of Health to further parse how obesity drives cardiovascular disease. 

August 2019

Dr. Jessica Filosa was awarded an Administrative Supplement to study Alzheimer’s disease on her National Institutes of Health R01 grant.

July 2019

Welcome to our new Department Chair, Dr. David Mattson and his lab personnel!

Drs. Zsolt Bagi and Jessica Filosa have been promoted to Professor. 


Read older news here!





Meet Our Faculty 

physiology In the news

Upcoming Physiology Seminars

Apr 02

CANCELLED - Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Richard Roman
Department of Physiology Seminar Series presents guest speaker Dr. Richard Roman from University of Mississippi Medical Center. To be rescheduled at later date.

Apr 16

Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Tseng Yu-Hua - Harvard Medical School
Department of Physiology Seminar Series guest speaker Dr. Tseng Yu-Hua from Harvard Medical School presents "Thermogenic fat: physiological role and therapeutic potential."

Apr 23

Department of Physiology Seminar Series - Dr. Lin Gan
Department of Physiology Seminar Series presents Dr. Lin Gan.

Additional Seminars