Department of Physiology


  • Under Dr. Webb's leadership, the Department of Physiology has donated toys to the Children’s Hospital of Georgia for eighteen years in a row.  This year, our department donated over thirty toys to the Children's hospital.  Dr. Webb used to don a Santa cap and a member of his lab would dress up as an elf and bring the toys down to the Children’s Hospital.  The garb may have changed over the years, however the generosity of his team has not.  Thank you to everyone who contributed!

  • Drs. Bollag, Brands, Payne, and Wang were selected for 2017 Medical College of Georgia Exemplary Teaching Awards.
  • Congratulations Dr. Amy Banes-Berceli, an alum of the Department of Physiology, on your promotion to Associate Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences at Oakland University!
  • Congratulations to Dr. Brett Mitchell, a former graduate student of Dr. Webb's lab, was selected as the 2018 Distinguished Alumnus for the Graduate School!
  • Drs. Webb, Sullivan, O’Connor, Ergul and Brands were featured in a Research Features publication regarding their Program Project Grant.
  • Dr. Webb was featured on WBJF Channel 6's the Jennie Show.
  • Happy Thanksgiving, from our team to yours!
  • The Physiology Postdoctoral Fellows did a great job coordinating the seventh annual Lois Ellison Lectureship with guest speaker Dr. Kathryn Sandberg.

    Lois Ellison Lectureship speaker Dr. Kathryn Sandberg with Dr. Lois Ellison and postdoctoral fellows.

  • Congratulations to Dr. Ryan Crislip, one of our Graduate Students, who successfully defended.Dr. Ryan Crislip




  • Dr. Harris received the Augusta University Research Institute 2017 Distinguished Research Award.


Department of Physiology
Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University
Interdisciplinary Research Center
1120 15th Street, CA3126
Augusta, GA 30912





Dr. Webb - Go Jags!

Our Chair, Dr. Webb, shows off his school pride.