Each year, the University System of Georgia MD/PhD Program welcomes up to six students into the program. These diverse students are a collection of talented individuals from many different universities. Current students are listed below according to matriculation year.

We are happy to answer any questions you may have about the MD/PhD Program. Please do not hesitate to contact anyone in the Program for more information.

STUDENT PROGRAM UNDERGRADUATE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY
2017      
no photo

Brandee Goo

bgoo@augusta.edu 

1st Year Medical Student University of Evansville - Evansville, IN
no photo

Chase Wehrle

cwehrle@augusta.edu 

1st Year Medical Student Washington University in St. Louis - St. Louis, MO
2016      
No photo

Elinor Mannon

emannon@augusta.edu

2nd Year Medical Student Wellesley College -  Wellesley, MA
no photo

Rebekah Robinson

rebrobinson@augusta.edu

2nd Year Medical Student Armstrong State University - Savannah, GA
2015
Jacob Kumro

Jacob Kumro

jkumro@augusta.edu

1st year PhD student

Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: David Blake, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 Clare Edwards

Clare Edwards

cledwards@augusta.edu

1st year PhD student

University of Georgia - Integrated Life Science Program

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
2014
Martin Halicek

Martin Halicek 

martin.halicek@gatech.edu

 

2nd Year PhD Student

Georgia Institute of Technology - Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Baowei Fei, PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
Wonjo Jang

Rohan Gupta

rgupta@augusta.edu 

1st Year PhD Student

Georgia Institute of Technology - Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Robert Gross, MD/PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
Wonjo Jang

Wonjo Jang

wojang@augusta.edu

1st Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Molecular Medicine

Mentors: Lin Mei MD/PhD, Jianhua Xu, PhD

Duke University - Durham, NC
John Klement

John Klement

jklement@augusta.edu

2nd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Kebin Liu, PhD

Yale University - New Haven, CT
Rodney Littlejohn

Rodney Littlejohn

rlittlejohn@augusta.edu

2nd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Huabo Su, PhD

University of Alabama - Tuscaloosa, AL
Najeah Okashah

Najeah Okashah

nokashah@augusta.edu

2nd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Nevin Lambert, PhD

Florida State University - Tallahassee, FL
Samantha Spellicy

Samantha Spellicy

samantha.spellicy25@uga.edu 

2nd Year PhD Student

University of Georgia - Neuroscience

Mentor: Steven Stice, PhD

University of Maryland - College Park, MD
Lynn Tran

Lynn Tran

lytran@augusta.edu

2nd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Jin Xiong She, PhD

University of North Georgia - Dahlonega, GA
Paul Tran

Paul Tran

ptran@augusta.edu

2nd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Genomic Medicine

Mentor: Jin Xiong She, PhD

University of North Georgia - Dahlonega, GA
2013
Kristin Ates

Kristin Ates

kates@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine

Mentor: Albert Pan, PhD

Tulane University - New Orleans, LA
Alec Davila

Alec Davila

adavila@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Pharmacology and Toxicology

Mentor: Zsolt Bagi, MD, PhD

Barry University - Miami Shores, FL
Aaron Fan

Aaron Fan

afan@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Esteban Celis, MD, PhD

Emory University - Atlanta, GA
Lauren Prusinski

Lauren Prusinski

lprusinski@augusta.edu

3rd Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Molecular Medicine 

Mentor: Ayman Al-Hendy, MD, PhD

Valparaiso University - Valparaiso, IN
2012   
 unavail

Irene Falk

ifalk@augusta.edu

4th Year PhD Student

Cambridge University - Neurodegeneration

Mentors: Steve Jacobson and Stefano Pluchino

Duke University - Durham, NC
 Bianca Islam

 Bianca Islam

bislam@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2017: Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Darren Browning, PhD

Georgia State University - Atlanta, GA
 Mary Ma

 Merry Ma

mma@augusta.edu

4th Year PhD Student

Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: Darrell Brann, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 Mason Webb

 Mason Webb

mwebb@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2017: Augusta University - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Mentor: Samir Khleif, MD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 2011  
 Harrison Grace

 Harrison Grace

hegrace@uga.edu 

5th Year PhD Student

University of Georgia - Neuroscience

Mentor: Michael Tiemeyer, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 Jason Lee

Jason Lee

clee@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2017: Augusta University - Neuroscience

Mentor: Joe Tsien, PhD

Georgia Gwinnett College - Lawrenceville, GA
 Kevin Lindsey

Kevin Lindsay

klindsay@gatech.edu 

5th Year PhD Student

Georgia Institute of Technology - Biomedical Engineering

Mentor: Ravi Bellamkonda, PhD

Mercer University - Macon, GA
 Phil Yao

 Phil Yao

pyao@augusta.edu

3rd Year Medical Student

Defended 2017: University of Georgia - Cellular Biology

Mentor: Rick Tarleton, PhD

Georgia Institute of Technology - Atlanta, GA
 2010  
 Joseph Burch

Joseph Burch

jsburch@uga.edu 

4th Year Medical Student

Defended 2016: University of Georgia - Microbiology and Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

Mentor: Harry A. Dailey, PhD

University of Georgia - Athens, GA
 Trevor Hardigan

Trevor Hardigan

thardigan@augusta.edu

4th Year Medical Student

Defended 2016: Augusta University - Physiology

Mentor: Adviye Ergul, MD/PhD

Colby College - Waterville,ME