Department of Family Medicine News

Annual Thanksgiving luncheon

Thanksgiving 2017The Department of Family Medicine celebrated their annual Thanksgiving Luncheon on November 7, 2017. Everyone enjoyed a wonderful time of fellowship and delicious food.  A big "thank you" to all who volunteered to make the event such a great success. 


Dr. bruce leclair delivers keynote for inaugural walk with a doc event

Walk with a doc logoDr. Bruce LeClair delivered the keynote address for the area's inaugural Walk With a Doc event held on October 21, 2017 at Pendleton King Park in Augusta, GA. The event which was hosted by the MCG Chapter of the Gold Humanism Honor Society is a global effort that encourages communities to be more active. 


Family Medicine Interest Group awarded 2017 Outstanding FMIG Award

We are proud to announce that the MCG Family Medicine Interest Group (FMIG) was awarded the 2017 Outstanding FMIG Award by the Georgia Academy of Family Physicians (GAFP). Each year the GAFP recognizes an outstanding Georgia Medical School FMIG for their work to increase interest in Family Medicine. Clubs are judged on how well they advocate for Family Medicine and Community Outreach to patients, funds programming and membership involvement and retention. 


Medical College of Georgia and University Health System Collaboration

Tom Corwin of the Augusta Chronicle interviewed the Department of Family Medicine Chairman, Dr. Joseph Hobbs as well as resident Dr. Celine Si and resident alumnus Dr. Michelle McMechan for an article outlining the MCG and University Health System Family Medicine Residency collaboration. "New MCG Residency program could help keep doctors in Augusta"



2016 GAFP Physician of the year award

Paul Forney, MD, has been chosen as the recipient of the 2016 Georgia Family Physician of the Year Award. This is the highest award bestowed on any GAFP member. It recognizes his compassion and direct involvement in community affairs and activities that enhance the quality of all Georgians. Congratulations, Dr. Forney!


Family Medicine Resident and Student Awards

Hilda Dorman Delionbach, BSN, Nursing Award (DFM)
Sheri Shannon
*picture unavailable
Teaching Resident Award (STFM)
Prasand Kesavan, MD
Family Medicine Resident of the Year (GAFP)
and the Rick Shuman Award (DFM)
Edward Agabin, MD


Thomas A. Sappington, MD (DFM)
Joanne Boggs


Ollie O. McGahee, Jr., MD Memorial Award (DFM)
Vishal Goyal
Sappington Student Award (GAFP)
Afua Akhi-Gbade


Family Medicine News Archives