Molecular Medicine Graduate Program

This graduate program combines the resources of basic science and clinical medicine and emphasizes the molecular processes underlying human diseases. The Molecular Medicine Graduate Program is designed to prepare students for careers in biomedical research and requires approximately five years of full-time study, including course work, examinations, and dissertation research (sample curriculum). All students complete a PhD dissertation based on original research.

The Molecular Medicine Graduate Program is directed by Dr. Lynnette McCluskey and is based in MCG's Dept. of Neuroscience and Regenerative Medicine (DNRM), chaired by Dr. Xin-Yun Lu. The Molecular Medicine Graduate Program includes more than 60 faculty drawn from clinical and basic science departments, including the Cancer Immunology, Inflammation and Tolerance Program, Molecular Oncology Program, and Dept. of Neuroscience & Regenerative Medicine. All are committed to using molecular approaches to solve disease-related problems.

For more information:


Congratulations to Caryn Bird for reaching the 3MT Semi-Finals and to Mohamed Hussein for winning the Molecular Medicine Award - 2019 Graduate Research Day.






Current Molecular Medicine Students

Caryn Bird




Caryn studies links between the complement pathway (local production, activation and secretion) and anti-tumor T cell responses after antigen presenting cell (APC)-stimulating therapy in combination with conventional chemotherapy and/or radiation using mouse tumor models.  The overall goal of these studies is to improve current methods of cancer treatment by decreasing the toxicity through harnessing the natural immune response.




Mohammed Hussein



   Mohammed studies regulation of Immune Responses to Apoptotic Cells by Antigen Presenting Cells.  Immune Tolerance mechanisms and its role in Autoimmune Diseases.


Leidy Caraballo Galva




Leidy studies Development of Safe and Effective CAR-T Cell Immunotherapy for Hepatocellular Carcinoma



Nada Aboelella


   Nada studies how chemotherapeutic agents modulate the tumor microenvironment (TME) and the cellular and metabolic events that affect the potency of Adoptive cell therapy (ACT). Identify the possible pathways that can be targeted to potentiate the ACT.  Understand the impact of cancer immunotherapies on tumor oxidative stress and the potential use of pro-oxidants in immunotherapy.


Molecular Medicine Program Graduates

Yan Wang - Postdoctoral Fellow - Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Connie Chung - Associate Scientist - VIvex, Miami, FL
Eslam Mohammed - Augusta University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Jill Bradley  - University of South Carolina Upstate (Postdoc)
Rahul Shinde  - University of Toronto (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Qian He  - Stanford University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Haiyun Liu  - Johns Hopkins University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Mona El Rafaey - Ohio State University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Kapil Chaudhary  - Augusta University (preparing for USMLE)
Buvana Ravishankar -  Genentech, Inc. (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Lingqian Li  - University of Washington (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Chaitanya Patwardhan -  University of Pennsylvania (Clinical Fellow)
Davies Agyekum, PhD  - Tufts University Medical School (Medical student)
Samuel Quaynor, PhD  - Augusta University/ Medical College of Georgia (Completing MD/PhD)
Anthony Florschutz  - Augusta University Medical Center (Surgeon, Dept. of Orthopedics)
Juhi Ojha, PhD  - Mayo Clinic, Arizona (Postdoctoral Fellow) moved to CA
Wongyoung Cho, PhD  - Augusta University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Lakiea Bailey, PhD, - Sickle Cell Community Consortium - Executive Director
Haixia Qin, MD/PhD - Georgia Regents University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Kyungsoo Ha, PhD - Augusta University (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Tiffany Floyd, PhD -  Augusta University (Research Staff)
Pam Wall-Steen, PhD -  Aiken Technical College (Faculty)
Daniel Eisenman, PhD  - Medical University of South Carolina (Biosafety Officer)
Durga Udayakumar, PhD - UT Southwestern Medical Center (Res Asst Prof; Radiation Oncology)
Rusty Johnson, MD/PhD  - Johns Hopkins University (Clinical Fellow in Hematology/Oncology)
Ceba Humphrey, MD/PhD -  Knoxville, TN (Surgeon)
Anna Manlapat, PhD  - NIH/NCI (Postdoctoral Fellow)
Faith Mmanywa, PhD  - Duke University Medical Center (Staff Scientist; Bacteriology Research Unit)
Darin Keskin, MD/PhD  - Dana Farber Cancer Institute (Faculty)
David Kahler, PhD  - Columbia University FACS Facility (Director)
Ted Johnson, MD/PhD - Augusta University (Dept. of Pediatrics and ITC; Assistant Professor)
Kannan Krishnamurthy, PhD - Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Ctr., Office of Tech. Dev. (Licensing Manager)
Kris Dhandapani, PhD -  Augusta University (Associate Professor in Neurosurgery)
Ning Xu, MD/PhD -  UCLA Cedars Sinai (Project Scientist)
Andrew Clark, MD/PhD  - Carolina Ob/Gyn., Med. Health Women & Children’s Hospital (Staff Physician)
JiNa Kong, PhD - Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Tsadik Habtetsion - Postdoctoral Fellow, Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Joann Appel, PhD - Instructor, Augusta Univ. Medical College of Georgia
Eun Kyung Ko, PhD - Postdoctoral Fellow, Univ. of Pennsylvania
Aaron Fan - completing MD, Augusta Univ. Medical College of Georgia
Lauren Prusinski - completing MD, Augusta University/ Medical College of Georgia                                                                                        Devaki Kumarhia, PhD - Microbiologist, Centers for Disease control & Prevention
Daniel Swafford, PhD - Postdoctoral Fellow, Georgia State University