This medical student initiative became operational in Academic Year 2014. Sixteen students per year are selected to participate in this intensive four-year ethics program that includes mentoring and shadowing activities. Students have the option of further exploring ethics through the Graduate Certificate on Bioethics Program. 

lte group photo

2021 Update

Welcome to the new LTE Executive Board: Leslie Adams, Cortney Sugihara, Vunya Srinivasa and Merry Chen!


In light of COVID-19, all activities are switching to a virtual platform. Because students are not allowed to shadow in the hospitals, our pastoral care shadowing will take place in the form of a virtual roundtable. We are excited to welcome our new first year members!


Monthly small group mentoring sessions with the LTE students and other elective students are conducted with Ethics Committee faculty member.

Both the Office of Pastoral Care and the MCG Clinical Instructor Nurses provide students with the opportunity to shadow them on their daily rounds and to observe the importance of their contribution to the promotion of ethical behaviors and their potential to preempt the need for a formal ethics consult.

M1: Leslie Adams, Brian Basden, Merry Chen, Lilley Cushman, Naema Daino, Sydney Erickson, Ahana Gaurav, Camelia Malkami, Daley Morera, Disha Patel, Natasha Ramaswamy, Viktoriya Sapkalova, Vunya Srinivasa, Cortney Sugihara, Preethi Reddi, Jacob Weiser

M2: Idris Ali Amghaiab, Lorry Aitkens, Rohan Bagga, Ha Eun Cho, Amanda Delgado, Elena Diller, Dae Gun Chung Kim, Oladoyin Oladosu, Elizabeth Pryor, Peyton Raley, Dhairya Shukla, Mary Thomson, Lakshmi Thulluri, Margaret Tyre, Ugochi Uzoigwe, Sarah Vick

M3: Dakota Booth, Nicole Brown, Keelie Denson, Alexandra Flemington, Weibo Fu, Charlotte Greenway, Boyd Guttery, Omar Hayek, Andy Huang, JaBreia James, Christopher Mays, Mary Moses, Namratha Mylarapu, Shalini Vemuru, Phillip Zhang

M4: Mona Abraham, Griffen Allen, Chance Bloomer, Raven Bryant, Bria Carrithers, Ashlyn Cates, Masoom Chainani, Maya Gibson, Dayton Grogan, Jackson Hortenstine, Savannah Mckenzie, Jack Owen, Steven Perry, Arjun Rangan, Michael Stephens, Sarah Sussman, Marshall Waller

Founding Members: Brice Hwang, Brian Sullivan, Connor Sweetnam, Travis Welsh, Lacey Williams, Blake Vander Wood