Augusta University Yesterday ...

Dr. Milton Antony (1789 — 1839), Founder of Augusta University

Augusta University has had many official names since its inception. Originally known as the Medical Academy of Georgia in 1828, the institution became the Medical Institute of Georgia in 1829, the Medical College of Georgia in 1833, the Medical Department of the University of Georgia in 1873 and the University of Georgia Medical College of Georgia in 1933.

In 1950, Augusta University officially became a health sciences university within the University System of Georgia.

Back | Continue