Skip to main contentBack to Top

Linah is presented award(Linah Shahoumi,  Oral Biology & Maxillofacial Pathology program, is awarded the Dr. Robert and Kay Schattner Award from The American Academy of Oral Medicine. Read her story >> )

Our students each have a passion to make a difference for themselves and those in the world around them. As a student at Augusta University, you will have the opportunity to make an impact as part of our biomedical community. 

Read on to learn more about what our great graduate students have accomplished. 

Congratulations to our outstanding students!


Program: Molecular Medicine

Mentor: Ted Johnson, MD PhD

Award: 2019 TGS Service Award Recipient


Program: Biochemistry & Cancer Biology

Mentor: Betty Pace, MD

Award: 2019 TGS Service Award Recipient


Highlighted Student Achievements

photo from article Ramirez Receives Porter Physiology Development Fellowship

Ramirez Receives Porter Physiology Development Fellowship

Lindsey Ramirez is a third year PhD Candidate in Dr. Jennifer Sullivan’s lab in the Department of Physiology at Augusta University. When asked, “Why a Biomed PhD?”, Lindsey responded, “We are only beginning to scratch the surface of how devastating diseases affect organ systems and the person as a whole. Since these diseases are rarely […]

photo from article The American Heart Association Heart Walk during the COVID-19 Pandemic

The American Heart Association Heart Walk during the COVID-19 Pandemic

2020 has been a whirlwind of a year so far and we’re only half way through. Back in January 2020, many entities at Augusta University (AU) began raising funds for the American Heart Association (AHA) through a local event called the “Heart Walk.” All of the individuals who were raising funds were excited to be […]

Helen presenting

PhD Student presents her research to the Board of Regents

When Helen Kaiser was asked to give a presentation about her research to the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia on Wednesday, January 8, 2020, she jumped at the opportunity. This presentation experience would fit right in with Helen’s plans for her future career. The Board of Regents of the University System […]

photo from article Jessica Pierce, A Reflection Back

Jessica Pierce, A Reflection Back

Most of you may know her as the student who led the Graduate Oath at the fall 2019 Hooding, but here at The Graduate School, we know her as Jessica Pierce, the student who is a reliable volunteer and an awesome student. When Jessica was asked to recite the Graduate Oath at the fall 2019 […]

Fellowships & Publications


Rebekah Tritz, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

Tyler Benson, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

Zsuzsanna Bordan, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship 

Hui-Ping Lin, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship

Alec Davila, American Hearth Association Ruth L. Kirschstein National Research Fellowship 

Rodney LittleJohn, National Institute of Health Predoctoral Fellowship 

Alec Davila, American Heart Association Predoctoral Fellowship 

Reem Atawia, American Heart Association Pre-Doctoral Fellowship 

Huiping Lin, American Heart Association Pre-Doctoral Fellowship



Shinjini Chowdhury, 1st Place in the Poster Competition,( May 2019) Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center at the Charlie Norwood VA Medical Center Research Day 

Lindsey Ramirez , Research Distinction Awards from the Water & Electrolyte Homeostasis Section , (April 2019)  The American Physiological Society at The Experimental Biology Meeting  

Patricia Martinez-Quinones, Second-Place Winner for Basic Laboratory Research Scientific Papers on Trauma Resident Paper Competition, (March 2019) The American College of Surgeons Committee

Mahmoud Abdelbary & Lindsey Ramirez, 2019 tum Suden awards , (January 2019) The American Association of Physiology 

Mohamed Meghil, Balint Orban Memorial Competition Finalist, (2019) The American Academy of Periodontology  

Mackenzie Hagan , American Society for Bone and Mineral Research Young Investigator Award, (2019) American Society for Bone and Mineral Research .

Mohammad Harun Rashid, The Curtis L. Parker Award For outstanding student scientific accomplishments and presentation at the Thirtieth Annual Student Research Symposium , (Feb 2018) Morehouse School of Medicine.

Mohamed Meghil, Hatton competition and award finalist (2018 ) American Association of Dental Research at the AADR /CADR Annual meeting 

 Molly Braun, Brann Scholarship Award, (2018) Augusta University 


Tailor PD, Kodeboyina SK, Bai S, Patel N, Sharma S, Ratnani A, Copland JA, She JX, Sharma A. (2018). Diagnostic and Biomarker Potential of Kallikrein Family Genes in Different Cancer Types. Oncotarget. 2018; 9:17876-17888.

Huiping Lin, Identification of novel macropinocytosis inhibitors using a rational screen of FDA-approved drugs. British Journal of Pharmacology, 2018 Sep. PubMed PMID: 29953580.

Kvirkvelia N, McMenamin M, Warren M, Jadeja R, Kodeboyina SK, Sharma A, Raju R, Lucas R, Madaio MP. (2018). Kidney Targeted Inhibition of Protein Kinase C-α Ameliorates Nephrotoxic Nephritis. Kidney International;2018 Aug;94(2):280-291.

Mohammad Harun Rashid, Thaiz Borin, Kartik Angara, Roxan Ara, Achyut Bhagelu, Ali Arbab: Abstract LB-368: Determining and characterizing differential biodistribution of tumor derived exosomes by non-invasive nuclear imaging. Cancer Research 07/2018; 78(13 Supplement):LB-368-LB-368., DOI:10.1158/1538-7445.AM2018-LB-368.

OK. Tawfik,HE. ElNahass, SN. Naiem, LK. Tawfik, N. Yussif, MM. Meghil, CW. Cutler, M. Darhous.  Lip repositioning with or without Myotomy: A Randomized Clinical Trial. J Periodontol. 2018 Jul14. doi: 10.1002/JPER.17-0598.

Wei Xiao, John D. Klement, Chunwan Lu, Mohammed L. Ibrahim and Kebin Liu. IFNAR1 Controls Autocrine Type I IFN Regulation of PD-L1 Expression in Myeloid-Derived Suppressor Cells. J Immunol. 2018 Jul 1;201(1):264-277.

Priscilla S. Redd, Chunwan Lu, John D. Klement, Mohammed L. Ibrahim, Gang Zhou, Takumi Kumai, Esteban Celis, and Kebin Liu. H3K4me3 mediates the NF-κB p50 homodimer binding to the pdcd1 promoter to activate PD-1 transcription in T cells. Oncoimmunology, June, 2018.

Swafford D, Shanmugam A, Ranganathan P, Hussein M, Prasad PD, Thangaraju M and Manicassamy S.  Canonical Wnt Signaling in CD11c+ Antigen Presenting Cells Regulates Microbiota-Induced Inflammation and Immune Cell Homeostasis in the Colon. Journal of Immunology (2018).

Hu, T. Wu, Q., Chong Y., Qin H., Poole C.J., van Riggelen, J., Ren, M. and Cowell, J.K. FGFR1 fusion kinase regulation of MYC expression drives development of stem cell leukemia/lymphoma syndrome. Leukemia April 2018. 

Wan Q, Okashah N, Inoue A, et al.  Mini G protein probes for active G protein-coupled receptors (GPCRs) in live cells. J Biol Chem. March 2018:jbc.RA118.001975. doi:10.1074/jbc.RA118.001975.

Vaibhav K, Braun M, Khan MB, Fatima S, Saad N, Shankar A, Khan ZT, Harris R, Yang Q, Huo Y, Arbab AS, Giri S, Alleyne C, Vender JR, Hess DC, Baban B, Hoda N, Dhandapani KM. Remote ischemic post-conditioning promotes hematoma resolution via ampk-dependent immune regulation. J Exp Med. 2018.

Allison Bridges, Rajpurohit, P., Prasad, P.D., and Thangaraju, M., Vitamin B3 – niacin and transcriptome analysis in relation to the GPR109A receptor, in: Patel, V.B. (Ed.), Molecular Nutrition of Vitamins. International Journal of Food Microbiology, 2018 (submitted: in press)

"The Role of Microtubule Motors in mRNA Localization and Patterning Within the Drosophila Oocyte" C.H. Goldman and G.B. Gonsalvez Textbook chapter from the book "Oocytes-maternal information and functions" 2017.