A Gadget is a little program that provides additional functionality within OU Campus. The Gadgets sidebar can be shown or hidden by the user, and can be shown by clicking on the "Show Gadgets" button at the top right of the screen.
If the user is on Dashboard or Content pages, the following gadgets are available:
If the user is on a specific page in OU Campus, the following gadgets are available:
If the user is editing a section on a page, the following gadgets are available:
The "My Checked-Out Content" gadget shows the content checked out by the current user, and the date/time stamp that the content was checked out. Within this gadget, the pages are linked, and can be clicked to for editing. The light bulb icon indicates the page is checked out, and clicking the icon checks the page back in.
The "Images" gadget lets the user drag and drop images from any folder into editable regions. Images can also be downloaded to a local computer by dragging an image from the Images gadget onto the desktop.
The "Activity" gadget shows content with recently performed actions, such as a schedule publish, page expiration, or upload. This gadget displays a list of the most recent actions that have been performed in OU Campus, listed in reverse chronological order.
The "Snippets" gadget lets the user drag and drop snippets from any folder into editable regions.
The "Dependency Tag Info" gadget allows content editors to search for and display information regarding dependency tags in OU Campus. This gadget is useful for when a user is trying to locate all pages that link to a specific page.
The "URL Shortener" gadget allows users to convert long URLs into shortened URLs. Users can then copy the shortened URL to paste onto the page or the "Insert/Edit Link" URL Source field. Clicking the shortened URL directs the user to the page or directory defined by the original URL path.
The "Notes" gadget gives users the ability to leave notes both for themselves and others on a page. Public notes are visible to everyone who edits the page, whereas private notes are visible only to the user who made the note.
When editing a page, type in the blank field to leave a note. A save icon will appear, which must be clicked to save the note. Once saved, notes can be edited by clicking the pencil icon, or deleted by clicking the circled "x" icon.
Users can only edit or delete notes they have posted themselves.