When deleting content in OU Campus, there are two options to be aware of: Move to Recycle Bin and Delete.
Webpages, documents, and images can all be moved to the Recycle Bin. Once sent to the Recycle Bin, the page is no longer live on the website, and cannot be viewed. Essentially, it is deleting the page. However, content moved to the Recycle Bin can be recovered.
In order to remove webpages, documents, or images, users should navigate to the Page Content Layout in OU Campus.
From this view, users have a wider variety of options available to them. By hovering over the desired page to delete, additional options appear. Under the "File" option at the far right is the option "Move to Recycle Bin." Select this option to send the page to the Recycle Bin.
Another way to send files to the Recycle Bin is by clicking the checkbox directly to the left of the file. Upon clicking the checkbox, additional options will appear at the top of the page, including the option to "Move to Recycle Bin."
Upon clicking "Move to Recycle Bin", a pop-up box will appear to ensure the page is not removed accidentally. The pages listed in the pop-up box are the pages that link to the page you are attempting to remove. Moving the page to the recycle bin as is means that the links on these pages will break. To ensure that there are no broken links on the site, fix or remove all the links on the listed pages prior to moving the page to the recycle bin.
Select "Move to Recycle Bin" to remove that file from it's folder, and place it in the Recycle Bin.
Folders within OU Campus do not have the option to "Move to Recycle Bin." Instead, they contain the option to "Delete." Selecting this option deletes the folder, as well as all the content inside the folder. Once deleted, none of this content is recoverable.
From the Page Content Layout, users can hover over the folder to be deleted, and select the "Delete" option under the "File" drop-down menu.
Users can also select the checkbox to the left of the folder, and select the "Delete" option to delete the folder.
Upon clicking "Delete", a pop-up box will appear to ensure the page is not deleted accidentally. You must type "delete" into the empty field before you can delete the folder. Once the folder is deleted, it cannot be recovered.
Select "Delete" to delete the folder.
Occasionally, files are sent to the Recycle Bin by accident and need to be recovered. Once files have been send to the Recycle Bin, they can be recovered and returned to their original location in OU Campus.
To recover files, hover over the "Content" menu at the top of the screen, and select "Recycle Bin" from the drop-down menu.
The Recycle Bin lists files, documents, images, and pages that have been deleted from the website. It lists the file name, the original location of the file, the person who sent it to the recycle bin, and the date and time the file was recycled.
Users can use the "Filter" option to easily locate the file that was recycled. Type either the name of the file, or the original location of the file.
A file can be restored by hovering over the file "Options", and selecting "Restore."
Another way to restore the file is to check the checkbox at the left of the file, and click "Restore" at the top of the screen.
Upon clicking "Restore," a pop-up box will appear, confirming that you want to restore the file. The file will be restored to its original location.
Click "Restore" to restore the page to its original location. The file will disappear from the Recycle Bin, and the user will be taken to the Content Page Layout where the page is located.