Wellbeing Committee Update



MCG Faculty Senate August 29, 2019

Vaughn McCall, MD

Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Health Behavior Executive Vice Dean, Medical College of Georgia

Wellbeing Committee Structure

- Consists of a chair and four members
 - Appointed by nomination of the Committee on Committees and approval of the MCGFS Executive Committee
- Representation from campuses statewide
- Representation of basic science and clinical faculty



- Ex-officio, voting members: senior associate dean for GME, associate dean for curriculum, associate dean for student and multicultural affairs (Augusta and Athens), chief of staff of medical staff, and chairs of the subcommittees
- Ex-officio, non-voting: chief executive officer for AUMA, vice president and chief medical officer for AUHS, associate dean for faculty affairs, and vice dean for academic affairs
- Four subcommittees focused on the areas of student wellbeing, resident wellbeing, physician/APP wellbeing, and faculty wellbeing



Student Wellbeing Subcommittee

- Chaired by the associate dean for student and multicultural affairs (Augusta)
- Six members-at-large
 - Nominated by the Committee on Committees, and appointed by the MCGFS Executive Committee
- Student representation from each of the four-year campuses
- Proportional representation of basic science and clinical faculty
- Ex-officio, voting members:
 - Campus associate dean for student and multicultural affairs (Athens)
 - Associate dean for curriculum
- Ex-officio, non-voting members:
 - > Vice dean for academic affairs





Resident Wellbeing Subcommittee

- Chaired by the senior associate dean for graduate medical education or their designee
- Six members-at-large
 - Nominated by the Committee on Committees and appointed by the MCGFS Executive Committee
- Ex-officio non-voting members:
 - > Vice dean for academic affairs
- Resident representation, selected by the office of Graduate Medical Education





Physician/APP Wellbeing Subcommittee

- Chaired by a committee member who has served at least two years, in so far as possible
 - Nominated by the subcommittee from amongst its members and elected by the Wellbeing Committee
- Six members-at-large
 - Nominated by the Committee on Committees, and appointed by the MCGFS Executive Committee
- Ex-officio non-voting members:
 - > Chief executive officer for AUMA
 - > Chief medical officer for AUHS
- Representation of physicians, AUMA off campus care center physicians, and two advance provider practitioners





Faculty Wellbeing Subcommittee

- Chair selected by the president-elect of the MCGFS Executive Committee, rotating between basic science and clinical faculty
- Six members-at-large
 - Nominated by the Committee on Committees, and appointed by the MCGFS Executive Committee
- Proportional representation of basic science and clinical faculty
- Ex-officio non-voting members:
 - > Associate dean for faculty affairs
 - President-elect of the Executive Committee
 - MCG director for faculty success





Questions

