Leadership Faculty


GEORGIA CANCER CENTER LEADERSHIP

photo of John K. Cowell, PhD, DSc, FRCPath


Interim Director
Associate Director, Basic Science
 
Leader,  Molecular Oncology & Biomarkers Program
 
Professor of Pathology
photo of Daniel Albo, MD, PhD, FACS 


Director,  Service Line
 
Director, Health Services Research Initiative
 
Professor of Surgery 
706- 721-4726 
dalbo@augusta.edu 

 

ADMINISTRATIVE LEADERS

photo of Albert Dallas, MBA

Chief of Staff
photo of John K. Cowell, PhD, DSc, FRCPath 


Interim Director
 
Associate Director, Basic Science
 
Leader,  Molecular Oncology & Biomarkers Program
 
Professor of Pathology 
706-721-4381 
jcowell@augusta.edu 
photo of Daniel Albo, MD, PhD, FACS 


Director,  Service Line
 
Director, Health Services Research Initiative
 
Professor of Surgery 
706- 721-4726 
dalbo@augusta.edu 
photo of Sharad Ghamande, MD 


Associate Director of Clinical Research,
 
Director of Gynecology Oncology,
 
Director of Physician Outreach
 
Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology 
photo of Nita J. Maihle, PhD 


Associate Director ofEducation
 
Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology
 
Professor of Pathology
 
Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology
 
Professor of Graduate Studies 
706- 721-1821 
nmaihle@augusta.edu 
photo of David Munn, MD


Special Advisor to the Director
 
Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, Cellular Biology & Anatomy, Graduate Studies, Pediatrics, & Pathology
 
Associate Professor of Medicine 
706-721-7141 
dmunn@augusta.edu 

 

PROGRAM LEADERS

photo of John K. Cowell, PhD, DSc, FRCPath


Interim Director,
 
Associate Director, Basic Science
 
Leader, Molecular Oncology & Biomarkers Program
 
Professor of Pathology
photo of Esteban Celis, MD 


Co-Leader, Cancer Immunology, Inflammation and Tolerance Program
 
Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology 
706-721-5668 
ecelis@augusta.edu 
photo of Daron Ferris, MD 


Director of HPV Epidemiology & Prevention Initiative
 
Professor of Family Medicine
 
Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology 
706-721-2535 
dferris@augusta.edu 
photo of Nahid Mivechi, PhD. 


Co-Leader, Molecular Oncology & Biomarkers Program
 
Professor of Radiology, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology 
photo of Martha Tingen, PhD 


Director of Tobacco Control Initiative
 
Charles W. Linder, M.D. Chair in Pediatrics 
706-721-0471 
mtingen@augusta.edu 

 

CLINICAL LEADERS

photo of Daniel Albo, MD, PhD, FACS


Director, Service Line
 
Director, Health Services Research Initiative
 
Distinguished Chair, Medical College of Georgia Surgical Oncology
 
Professor of Surgery
706- 721-4726
dalbo@augusta.edu
photo of Sharad Ghamande, MD 


Associate Director for Clinical Research
 
Director of Gynecology Oncology
 
Director of Physician Outreach
 
Professor of Obstetrics & Gynecology 
photo of John T. Barrett, MD, PhD


Interim-Chair, Radiation Oncology 
 
Professor of Radiation Oncology 
706-721-2971 
jbarrett@augusta.edu