DH faculty 1967

Dental and Dental Hygiene Faculty and Administrators in 1967 in front of the trailer housing the Dental College of Georgia and the Dental Hygiene Program (from left, Drs. Ken Morse and Hugh Averill, Julia Galbaugh, Drs. Tom Zwemer, Judson Hickey, Louis Boucher, and Richard Topazian, Ray Lackman, and Drs. Bill Wege and Tom Dirksen)

The bachelor's program in dental hygiene was initiated at Augusta University (then Medical College of Georgia) in conjunction with the establishment of the Dental College of Georgia with Julia J. Galbaugh as Program Director, Development of this program stimulated the plan to establish an allied health sciences school on the campus. It also led to the establishment of six associate degree dental hygiene programs within the university system and the abolition of dental hygiene preceptor training in Georgia.

Dr. Billy Pollard was appointed Chair. 

The unit's name changed to the Department of Associated Dental Sciences to reflect the addition of three new programs: associate degrees in dental hygiene and dental laboratory technology, and a master of health education.

Dr. Pollard retired after serving as Department Chair for 16 years. Gail Winkley was appointed Acting Chair.

The Department of Associated Dental Sciences established an external degree program in dental hygiene in Rome, Ga., to help address the statewide shortage of dental hygienists.

The dental laboratory technology program relocated to a new facility at Augusta Technical Institute.

Gail Winkley was named permanent Department Chair.

Jessie O. Brown, the first full-time faculty hired in the Department of Associated Dental Sciences, retired after 30 years of service. The Jessie O. Brown Scholarship Award was later established in her honor.

The program converted to a baccalaureate degree and the associate degree program was discontinued. 

Dr. Marie Collins was appointed Department Chair in September following the retirement of Gail Winkley.

The department was renamed the Department of Dental Hygiene.

Dental Hygiene faculty began clinical practice in the Dental Practice Group through a clinical services affiliation agreement with the Dental Foundation, Inc.

Dental Hygiene faculty became the first members of the newly formed Allied Health Sciences Practice Group, Inc.

The department hosted its 10th Annual Dental Hygiene Alumni Day program, a four-hour continuing education program with 83 participants.

The department  hosted its 25th Annual Dental Hygiene Symposium in Savannah, Ga., a 13-hour continuing education program  that attracted 405 participants.

Dr. Marie Collins left to become Dean of Health Sciences in Florida South Western State College. Ana Thompson became interim Chair.

Ana Thompson is appointed Department Chair.

The Department of Dental Hygiene celebrated its 50th anniversary. In addition, the department hosted its 35th Annual Dental Hygiene Symposium in Savannah, Ga.

In August, several departments within the College of Allied Health Sciences were consolidated in order to create two new departments. The Dental Hygiene Department was disbanded and the Dental Hygiene Program was consolidated under the new Department of Undergraduate Health Professions. Ms. Ana Thompson was subsequently named Chair of the Department of Undergraduate Health Professions. Ms. Erin Boyleston was named Program Director for the Dental Hygiene Program.