Registration

Preceptor: A one-time registration* is required; no need to renew annually but can edit key information changes.

Academic Programs will submit reports of eligible hours upon rotation completion.

GA-PTIP website: www.augusta.edu/ahec/ptip

• Preceptor registration portal

Find FAQs, guidelines, training opportunities, program guidelines, news and updates



The Georgia Statewide AHEC Program Office at Augusta University is legislatively authorized to administer the program.

Contact

Cindy Peloquin Director, PTIP Program Georgia Statewide AHEC Phone: 706-721-8331 Email: PTIP@augusta.edu Web: <u>www.augusta.edu/ahec/ptip</u>

GEORGIA PRECEPTOR TAX INCENTIVE PROGRAM (PTIP)

Providing Value to our Volunteer Community-Based Faculty





*Preceptors must register to receive the credit.

*Preceptors must be registered by December 31st to receive credit for the preceding year.



1120 15th Street, RM AA 1057 Augusta, GA 30912 Administered by the Georgia Statewide AHEC Network Program Office

What is PTIP?

In 2014, Georgia became the first state in the nation to offer a tax deduction to community based physicians who provided uncompensated training to our state's medical students. In 2019, the Georgia legislature took this a step further by abolishing the old tax deduction and replacing it with a tax credit applicable to an individual's state income tax. The new program allows community based preceptors (licensed medical, osteopathic, advanced practice nurse, or physician assistant) who are not compensated for teaching, to earn tax credits for providing community based clinical training for students from the state's public or private medical, osteopathic, advanced practice nursing, or physician assistant educational programs. Physicians can earn a total of \$8.500 tax credits each calendar year while APRNs and PAs can earn up to \$6,375 in tax credits for the same period. Credits are accrued by providing a rotation (160 hours of training per credit) with a maximum of 10 possible credits earned. The first 3 rotations are rewarded with a \$500 tax credit (for each rotation) for physicians; APRN and PA's earn \$375 each for the first 3 rotations completed. Physicians earn \$1000 each for rotations 4-10 while APRNs and PAs earn \$750 each for rotations 4-10. This novel program provides a way for Georgia's educational partners to say "thank you" to the volunteer, uncompensated community based preceptors who train our next generation of key health care providers.



Eligibility

- Licensed MD, DO, APRN or PA in GA
- Cannot receive direct compensation from any source, for teaching medical, osteopathic, APRN, or PA students.
- Credits only available for rotations supporting Georgia medical, osteopathic, APRN or PA programs.
- Must complete a minimum of one (160 hours) rotations to be eligible; credit is provided retroactively once eligibility is established.
- A maximum of 10 rotations may be claimed each calendar year.

ELIGIBLE PROGRAMS:

- Albany State University (APRN)
- Augusta University (MD, APRN, PA)
- Brenau University (APRN, PA)
- Clayton State University
- Columbus State University (APRN)
- Emory University (MD, APRN, PA)
- GA College and State University (APRN)
- GA Southern University (APRN)
- GA Southwestern State University (APRN)
- GA State University (APRN)

ELIGIBLE PROGRAMS:

Cont'd

- Kennesaw State University (APRN)
- Mercer University (MD, APRN, PA)
- Middle Georgia State University (APRN)
- Morehouse School of Medicine (MD, PA)
- PCOM GA (DO, PA)
- South College Atlanta Campus (APRN, PA)
- South University (APRN, PA)
- University of North GA (APRN)
- Valdosta State University (APRN)



Certification

The Statewide Area Health Education Centers (AHEC) Program Office at Augusta University shall administer the program and certify rotations.

Only the AHEC Program Office can certify eligible rotations and issue tax letters.

Individual academic programs will report completed qualifying hours to the AHEC Program Office.

Credit will be certified by the Georgia Statewide AHEC Network Program Office and a letter issued by January 30 of each calendar year.