Neuroscience Research


An exhaustive list of neuroscience research projects at Augusta University would be would be difficult to include on one webpage. Current research topics include epilepsy, neural repair, stem cells, neurobehavior, learning and memory processes, neurodegenerative diseases, receptor and channel function and signaling, stroke, synaptic plasticity, taste, vision, and many others. Research in these areas is carried out at one of Augusta University's many outstanding basic and clinical science departments, including departments of Cellular Biology and Anatomy, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physiology, Neurology, Neuropathology, Neurosurgery, Ophthalmology, Psychiatry, Radiology; and research centers such as the Institute of Molecular Medicine and Genetics Developmental Neurobiology Program (IMMAG), the Brain and Behavior Discovery Institute, Vascular Biology Center, Vision Sciences Center, and the Neuroscience Center of Excellence. Augusta University has a strong interdepartmental and interinstitutional approach to research, and this is true of Neuroscience research as well. For more information about research visit the Research website here.

Research as a Component of Curriculum

Students will undertake three rotations in research labs during the first semester of the first year, where they will be involved in research projects. These are designed to teach techniques and serve to help students choose a research lab. During the second semester of their first year students will do two research rotations which will serve to help them select a mentor for their dissertation research, chosen after their second semester. Students are expected to receive research training during the rotations and in the lab of their mentor. Students will prepare a written research proposal for their dissertation in consultation with their mentor and a thesis advisory committee that will approve the research proposal. The student is expected to do original research for their dissertation and publish their work in a peer-reviewed scientific journal.

 
Research Faculty Listing
Faculty/Research
E-mail
Clinical Faculty
Krishnan Dhandapani
David Hess
Lawrence Layman
Sergei Kirov
Nathan Yanasak
kdhandapani@augusta.edu
dhess@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
skirov@augusta.edu
nyanasak@augusta.edu
Cognitive, Integrative and Behavioral
David Blake
Jay Hegde
Lin Mei
Alan Saul
Alvin Terry
Joe Tsien
Almira Vazdarjanova
Nathan Yanasak
dblake@augusta.edu
jhegde@augusta.edu
lmei@augusta.edu
asaul@augusta.edu
aterry@augusta.edu
jtsien@augusta.edu
avazdarjanova@augusta.edu
nyanasak@augusta.edu
Developmental and Regenerative
Darrell Brann
Erhard Bieberich
Richard Cameron
Quansheng Du
David Kozlowski
Lawrence Layman
Lynnette McCluskey
Lin Mei
Wen-Cheng Xiong
Robert Yu
dbrann@augusta.edu
ebieberich@augusta.edu
rcameron@augusta.edu
qdu@augusta.edu
dkozlowski@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
lmccluskey@augusta.edu
lmei@augusta.edu
wxiong@augusta.edu
ryu@augusta.edu
Cellular and Molecular
Clare Bergson
Erhard Bieberich
Darrell Brann
Richard Cameron
Bo-Shiun Chen
Krishnan Dhandpani
Dave Hill
Sergei Kirov
David Kozlowski
Nevin Lambert
Lawrence Layman
Lin Mei
Wei-Hua Wu
Wen-Cheng Xiong
Robert Yu
cbergson@augusta.edu
ebieberich@augusta.edu
dbrann@augusta.edu
rcameron@augusta.edu
bochen@augusta.edu
kdhandapani@augusta.edu
whill@augusta.edu
skirov@augusta.edu
dkozlowski@augusta.edu
nlambert@augusta.edu
llayman@augusta.edu
lmei@augusta.edu

wxiong@augusta.edu

ryu@augusta.edu